Logo Savani Transports Pvt Limited   
  Our Founder         
  Branch Network
  Careers with us
  Contact Us

Late Shri Maneklal Vadilal Savani - Founder

In 1942 Shri Vadilal Nathubhai Savani along with his brother Shri Tarachand Nathubhai Savani entered the field of road transport from their first hand experience with railways in the name of Vadilal Nathubhai & Co. This vision was expanded by Shri Maneklal V. Savani, the Founder Chairman and the main spirit behind the group success.

The initial years of the firm were turbulent in view of the ongoing World War II and the inadequacy of basic infrastructure and other facilities in the country. Even the basic roads and highways were of very poor quality in those times. But driven by determination and vision, they continued in their pursuit and achieved an encouraging response. Due to the rapid expansion in the business, the business entity was converted to "Savani Transport (P) Limited" in 1959.

Shri Maneklal V. Savani was associated with the Bombay Goods Transports Association since 1950 and was the member of its Managing comittee in the year 1958 and became its President in 1973-74. In 1959, he joined the All India Motor Transport Congress, an All India Federation of All States Transport Industry. He was a member of the Managing Comittee in 1960 and became its President in the year 1974-76. He was also actively associated with the Maharashtra Truck Owners' Association and in the Wadala Truck Terminal Project. He was a member of the Indian Merchant Chamber and served on its various committees.

He was very active in various social and charitable causes and was the President of Dhanera Arogya Samiti from 1967 to 1980, the President of Palanpur Samaj Kendra, Atmanand Jain Sabha, Matunga Gujarati Club, the Vice Chairman of Manav Seva Sangh and M.P.College of Girls (S N D T). He was also connected with various other social organisations.

Late Shri M. V. Savani in his early days

In the field of education, his contributions have been in the form of actively assisting to establish schools and colleges and was associated with the Shreevallabh Shikshan Sangeet Ashram, S.A.Jain College Trust and Management Society and Shri Yashovijayji Jain Gurukul.

He also contributed his mite towards various religious and charitable organisations like the Bharat Jain Mahamandal, Mahavir Jain Vidhyalaya, All India Swetamber Conference, Shree Atma Vallabh Jain Smarak Shikshan Nidhi, Shree Atmanand Jain Sabha and Shree Maharashtriya Jain Vidyabhuvan.

In recognition of his services, the Government of Maharashtra appointed him Justice of Peace in 1970 and thereafter Special Executive Magistrate. He was the recipient of the Udyog Ratna and the Shiromani Award, awarded by the President of India, Gyani Zail Singh in recognition of his services to the Transport Industry in the years 1985 and 1986 respectively. He was also the recipient of the Nehru Centenary Excellence in 1989 and the Glory of India International Award 1991. He was posthumously awarded the Manav Seva Puraskar in recognition of his contribution to the social, charitable and trade activities.

 Shri K.M. Reddy Chief Justice  Bombay High Court honouring  Shri M.V. Savani  Shiromani Award presented to  Shri M.V. Savani by Shri Giani  Zail Singh - President of India  in 1986

 Glory of India International  Award received on behalf of  Shri M.V. Savani presented by  Dr.Abid Hussain - Indian  Ambassador to USA in 1991  Excellence Award 1989  presented to Shri M.V. Savani  by Mr. Rastogi, The Indian High  Commissioner of Great Britain  at London

Go Top